Please Sound Horn Please

by Ila

Well, I’m back. And of all the things I could choose to write about, I chose… honking your horn? I know what you’re thinking: “Ila’s gone mad! She’s written a blog post about horn-honking! HORN-HONKING!” or “Honking horns? Really, Ila? I thought you were sane.” or simply :”eyebrow-raised-emojipediaBut just hear me out. Here in India, there is a LOT of horn honking. A LOT. In the US,  people honk their horns the they’re alarmed or angry or deprived of coffee. In India, however, you just honk your horn because. Kavi and I devised a long (and I mean LONG) list of why people in India might at any given time honk their horn.

Why People in India Honk Their Horns

  • I haven’t honked my horn recently. HONK HONK
  • My car is next to your car. HONK HONK
  • My car is behind your car. HONK HONK
  • My car is in front of your car. HONK HONK
  • I want to honk my horn. HONK HONK
  • HONK HONK (no explanation)
  • You honked, so I’ll honk. HONK HONK
  • It seems like a good idea to honk my horn. HONK HONK
  • I accidentally honked my horn, so I’m going to honk more to make it seem like it was on purpose. HONK HONK
  • Why not? HONK HONK
  • I want to add to the city atmosphere. HONK HONK
  • There’s a truck in front of me. HONK HONK
  • I want to honk along to the tune of my music. HONK HONK
  • I am switching lanes.

Now Number 12 could be a bit confusing, but in India, there are often messages painted on the back of trucks that are actually TELLING you to honk. There are quite a few versions of Honk Your Horn messages that can be on the back of trucks and here’s a list of ones we’ve seen:

  • Horn
  • Horn Please
  • Blow Horn
  • Sound Horn
  • Please Sound Horn
  • Please Sound Horn Please
  • Hello Please Sound Horn
  • Hellow Please Sound Horn
  • Hello Please Sound Horn Please
  • Hellow Please Sound Horn Please
2 thoughts on “Please Sound Horn Please

  1. Hilarious Ila. And believe me, everyone here needs a laugh right now. Maybe you could make a collection of those beautiful signs on the back of the trucks. But ones you find that have fallen off of course.

    Like

  2. India gets curiouser and curiouser! Your descriptions bring the country so close. I’m trying to hear the rhythm of the horns. Don’t think you are insane at all!! But a very good writer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

